“THE COURAGE TO BE” BY DR. PAUL TILLICH (A LUTHERAN) & “PEACE OF SOUL” BY CATHOLIC BISHOP FULTON J. SHEEN.

SHARING SOME GOOD BOOKS AND INSPIRATIONS FROM MY YOUTH AND SEMINARY DAYS THAT I THINK WILL BE OF SOME HELP TO OTHERS. THESE HAVE STOOD THE TEST OF TIME AND IN MANY WAYS ARE EVEN MORE RELEVANT IN THE SOMEWHAT CHAOTIC AND DISTURBING TIMES WE ARE NOW LIVING THROUGH.


Other than being Christian I do not hold to any particular denomination. I have found helpful writings and books from both Protestant, Catholic, Secular, Non Denominational, and many other authors. Archbishop Fulton J. Sheen was the first television evangelist and a prolific author, a philosopher/theologian, orator and as far as I can tell a person of good character. As a 7-10 year kid I often listened to him on our brand new black and white Emerson television. My upbringing was Congregationalist and then in my teenage years I attended a wonderful Pentecostal Church. In later years I attended a Lutheran Seminary and later, among other vocations, spent 10 years as an IT manager at a Catholic Seminary (not to forget my layover at the Island of the Sirens and stops at numerous watering holes along the way). My first degree was in Geology.

I often describe my education as an education in“Earth and Sky”.

(Note: Yes I know that there have been some very bad things revealed about the hierarchy of the Catholic Church (as well as Protestant Churches). That does not however indict all Catholics.

FOR A PDF EXERPT FROM HIS BOOK “PEACE OF SOUL”:




DR. PAUL TILLICH

A THEOLOGIAN NOT UNFAMILIAR WITH THE REALITIES OF LIFE ON PLANET EARTH

During WWI PAUL Tillich served as a chaplain in the trenches, burying his closest friend and numerous soldiers in the mud of France. He was treated three times for combat trauma, and was awarded the Iron Cross for bravery under fire. He came home from the war shattered.

HE LEFT GERMANY WHEN HITLER CAME INTO POWER AND CAME TO THE UNITED STATES

A VIDEO ON JUST ONE OF HIS MANY BOOKS CALLED “THE COURAGE TO BE”.

OFENTIMES FAITH REQUIRES COURAGE




AND A HUMOROUS VIDEO ABOUT HOW EGO OFTEN BECOMES “THE PRIME MOVER” IN MANY OF OUR LIVES.

ANOTHER SONG THAT MAKES ME LAUGH AND AT THE SAME TIME GIVES US A LITTLE BIT OF LESSON ABOUT SOME OF THE REALITIES IN OUR WORLD. GOOD JOB GUYS.